Skip to main content
Kofax

How to delete all confirmed messages from the KCS file structure

Summary

This "Fast Publish" solution is based on one case only and most likely doesn't cover all possible solution scenarios or error descriptions.This solution is provided as-is and may contain limited technical imperfections and consequently may be revised at any time. If you have the same or similar error situation and the provided solution doesn't help in resolving your issue, or if you have further questions or possible additions, please contact your next level of support. 5175

Description

On this occasion the technician, who installed and tested the KCS system for a new customer, wanted to get rid of all confirmed test messages without losing any users, settings or licenses.

Solution

To accomplish this you can delete only the short-term archive.

In this way all confirmed messages are deleted, but no other files are lost.

To delete the short-term archive you will need to delete the AARCHIVFILE0 with the TCDEL tool. This tool can be found in the 'C:\TCOSS\SYSTEM' folder.

Steps:

  • Stop TCOSS via the 'Kofax Communication Server Monitor'
  • Open an command prompt with administrative rights
  • Browse to: 'C:\TCOSS\SYSTEM'
  • Enter: "tcdel +MAILSYS/AARCHIVFILE0" (the last character is a zero)
  • After a couple of seconds a message will be thrown back reporting that 1 file has been deleted.
  • Start TCOSS again.

Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 1.35.22 PM.png

During the start, TCOSS will create a new AARCHIVFILE0 file.

Note: Deleting this file will cause a short-term archive lost state in TC/Archive and TC/Report which must be handled.

Applies to

  • KCS - All supported.

Keywords: delete messages, shortterm, short-term, short term, Confirmed, archive