Skip to main content
Kofax

How long does the DCE Cache keep logged in user information

How long does the DCE Cache keep logged in user information

Summary/Question:

If the system is configured to cache authentication information at the DCE to allow authentication to function when the CAS service is unavailable, how long is that information kept and is there a limit to the number of users' information that can be kept?

Answer:

The DCE caching is enabled in System Manager > Configuration > User Authentication under the CAS offline behavior.

When a user authenticates at a device, their credentials are stored in the cache of the DCE to which that device is connected. These cached credentials do not expire and there is no limit to the size of the cache other than the available disk space on the server on which the DCE resides. Clearing the DCE cache will remove all of the cached information. Network passwords are not stored in the DCE cache.