Using ShareScan 5.4 SP2, the job is automatically cancelled due to an error message. If an error form is displayed on the client and the user does not press OK to dismiss it, after a time-out, the scanning job is canceled and the client returns to the Main form.
This issue has been resolved with the following hotfix: SS54SP2_HF4531
By installing this hotfix, after the timeout, the error message is dismissed, however scanning will continue (the scan job will not be cancelled as before).
To obtain this hotfix, please open a support ticket with your ShareScan solutions provider.