Skip to main content
Kofax

MarkView AUSS Diagnostics and Troubleshooting

4944
Article # 304056 - Page views: 477

Summary

4944

Applies To

  • ERP System: Oracle
  • MarkView Version: 9.x+

Overview

  • AUSS is a component within MarkView that allows for synchronization of your ERP users into the MarkView System. AUSS allows you to have only a single location to manage user to a specific ERP Source.
  • AUSS disables/enables users in MarkView the day after it detects the changes in Oracle.
  • It is not designed to exactly sync end-dates or last-update-dates, nor is it expected to disable users the same day they are disabled in Oracle.
  • You do have the option to manually disable a user immediately in MarkView via the Administration screens, at the same time you do the same manual disabling of the user in Oracle.
    • Example:
      • The Oracle Admin opens the User's Oracle record on Jan 2nd, and sets the end date for the user to be Jan 1st.
      • As a result, the last update date for the User's Oracle record is Jan 2nd
      • Then AUSS runs on Jan 3rd, and sees the User's Oracle record has been Jan 2nd, finds the user is now disabled in Oracle, and then disables them in MarkView.
        • Note: AUSS is designed (per feature 877380) so that if you end-date a user or a person in Oracle, after AUSS synchronization the user is disabled in MarkView on the next day.

General Process with the AUSS synchronization

AUSS detects the type of synchronization process, Initial or Incremental through the LastSyncDate parameter:

  • If “LastSyncDate” undefined – Initial
  • If “LastSyncDate” is not empty – Incremental

The below steps applies during the “Incremental” synchronization:

  1. AUSS selects users who were affected between “LastSyncDate” and Current Time:
    • Users that have been created for the specified time interval
    • Users that have been modified in that particular time interval (including responsibility changes)
  2. AUSS disconnects from the ERP system at this point after selecting the users and gathering users information.
  3. AUSS updates users, who were selected in Step (2) in MarkView schema:
    • If user with the same USERID doesn’t exist in MV Schema – then AUSS creates new user with AUSS_CREATE_YN=Y.
    • If user with the same USERID already exists in MV Schema – then AUSS checking possibility of re-writing information about particular user using the following OR (OVERRIDE_FLAG = Y)
    • If AUSS detects that user cannot be overridden in MV Schema (AUSS_CREATE_YN = N, OVERRIDE_FLAG = N) then the particular user will be skipped.
  4. AUSS updates “LastSyncDate” using current date time as value.
Note-Icon.png

Please Note that the steps above don't contain information about handling AUSS profiles and Initial Synchronization.

Troubleshooting AUSS Synchronizations Issues:

A user had their roles updated in the ERP however they were not updated in MarkView:Please see Article 4947.

Frequently Asked Questions:

  1. Question: How do I delete a source system once it has been added in AUSS.

    1. Answer: Once a Source System has been setup it cannot be removed from the AUSS setup. If you do not want any of it's roles to be used you can remove all of the mappings.

 

Additional Tips:

If user sync fails, try for a single user as follows:

  • Confirm if the AUSS sycnhronization for this user fails with the message like "User JSMITH is not AUSS user."
  • Check Support Tools "User Role & Group Search" utility for this user and see if AUSS user and enabled or disabled.
  • Try deleting the Disable Date for this user in Administration -> MarkView Admin. Doing this may result in error similar to: 
  • Try updating the MVUM_USER record for the user to remove the disable date.
  • Then try running an AUSS synchronization for this user.

 

Logging:

Enable Debug Logging

  • For MarkView Versions 7.x
    • No debug logging is available
  • For MarkView Versions 8.1 and higher
    • To enable debug logging for AUSS, set the USERMGMT_LOGGING_LEVEL preference to DEBUG.
    • No restart is required, although it may take a few minutes before the new logging level is established

Disable Debug Loggin

  • For MarkView versions 8.1 and higher
    • To disable debug logging for AUSS, set the USERMGMT_LOGGING_LEVEL preference to WARN
    • No restart is required although it may take a few minutes before the new logging level is established:

Log File Location

  • MarkView Versions 7.x
    • File location: All MarkView Log Locations
    • File name(s): usermgmt.log
  • MarkView Versions 8.0 and higher
    • File location: All MarkView Log Locations
    • File name(s): usermgmt.log, usermgmt-auss.log, usermgmt-auth.log

Keywords: AUSS

  • Was this article helpful?