There is nothing in the MarkView System that can remove images from a document server.
It is possible for image files to be overwritten on a server, or written to an incorrect location / server, if an instance is configured incorrectly.
How Files Are Created In The System:
- When a document is created (from a received fax, or scanned document), the image files are named according to a sequence value (MV_FILENAME_SEQ). This value is left-padded to eight (8) digits with zero (0).
- The storage location for these files is determined in the following process:
- First, the image volume with a status of 'OPEN' will be the target volume. If there are multiple OPEN volumes, the volume with the lowest sequence is the target. (MV_VOLUME)
- The document-creating application (MarkView Fax Server or MarkView Scan) reads the MV_VOLUME_PATH for the target volume_id and the target platform_id (based on the application's Workstation Serial Number value, mapped in mv_workstation). This volume_path determines the root location to store the image files.
- Depending on the filename scheme, the filename is parsed, to determine the target location to store the image files.In most environments, the filename scheme is 11110. This means that the last four (4) digits of the filename reference to the four sub-directory tree that the image file belongs to. This path is appended to the volume_path record from (b) above. So, for instance, file 12345678.tif will be stored in subdirectory 5/6/7/8 off of the root directory.
If any of these components are configured incorrectly, or if the configuration changes at any point, the resulting document image files will be stored in a different location.
For instance, if a volume_path entry is changed in mv_volume_path incorrectly, or if the creating application (MarkView Fax or MarkView Scan) changes its workstation serial number (and hence platform), then it will create document images in a different location.
Also, if a TEST environment is refreshed from PROD, and the OPEN volumes are not changed, or the mv_volume_path entries are not changed appropriately, then creating any documents in the TEST environment may store the image files in a PROD location. And, since the sequences for TEST and PROD may be overlap at some point, TEST will create files of the same name and same target location as PROD, possibly overwriting images.
To prevent inadvertently overwriting PRODUCTION image files with DEV or TEST images, many customers configure their document server so that the files are created with default permissions of r--r----- (Unix), or Read Only access (Windows). This can be accomplished by changing the umask setting for the creating user id and/or the umask for ftp.
If files are incorrectly created in another location for a PRODUCTION environment (say, for instance, someone changed the volume_path settings in PRODUCTION temporarily by accident), the base files can be moved to the 'correct' location that is now specified by the volume_path. You might check all of the mv_volume_path entries, and see if perhaps one of those paths would lead to the base image files on another server location.