Question / Problem:
We have old documents in workflow that has recently gone missing.
Answer / Solution:
Inactive documents are deleted one year after the last user interaction. Documents that are left in the approval flow, workflow, unhandled for over one year will automatically be deleted. If you want to extend this you need to update the document every year.
This is documented in the help pages: