Question / Problem:
When uninstalling Kofax VRS Elite, is the license automatically deactivated?
Answer / Solution:
When uninstalling a standalone installation of Kofax VRS Elite, the license will be deactivated on the local PC and, if it is able to, on the Kofax licensing server.
If Kofax VRS Elite is unable to deactivate the license on the Kofax licensing server, the following will occur:
- The uninstallation procedure will not give an indication that the license was not deactivated.
- A deactivate.txt file will be created in the following location:
- The deactivate.txt file will contain the serial number and Deactivation Code needed to deactivate the license via the following Web page:
Until the license is deactivated on the license server, attempting to activate the license on a different PC will result in the following message:
A license for this serial number is in use on another machine. That license must be deactivated first.
If a client installation of Kofax VRS Elite is uninstalled, there is no local copy of a license to deactivate.
A client/server installation of Kofax VRS Elite uses a concurrent licensing structure. A license is not assigned to a particular PC.
If a server installation of Kofax VRS Elite is uninstalled, the server license will not be deactivated. To move the Kofax VRS Elite server license to a different PC, the following Web page will need to be used: