Skip to main content
Kofax

Restrict Users from modifying or saving new VRS Profiles

19125

QAID # 19125 Published

Question / Problem:

Can users be restricted from modifying or saving new VRS Profiles with Kofax VRS Elite 5.x?

Answer / Solution:

Yes, users can be restricted from modifying or saving new VRS Profiles with Kofax VRS Elite 5.x. An administrator can modify an element in the VRSAccess.xml file to accomplish this.

  1. Open the VRSAccess.xml file in a text editor such as Notepad, from the local Kofax VRS installation at the following path:
    C:\ProgramData\Kofax\Vrs
  2. Edit the value of <DisableAllAdmin>0</DisableAllAdmin> from 0 to 1.
  3. Save the changes and close the VRSAccess.xml file.

Enabling the DisableAllAdmin property in the VRSAccess.xml file will remove the VRS Profile Save and Management options from the VRS Interactive Viewer, and the user will only be able to access pre-configured VRS Profiles.

NOTE: A user can still make changes to the VRS properties if they scan with the Adjust Quality setting of On First Page and On Every Page. However they will not be able to save any changes made to a profile.

Applies to:

Product  Version  Category 
VRS 5.0 Profiles
VRS 5.1 Profiles
VRS 5.1.1 Profiles
VRS 5.1.2 Profiles